The main grape varieties

Riesling

Riesling is probably the best known white wine cultivar. The Riesling from Luxembourg “breathes” the shell limestone soil on which the vines grow. They confer intense minerality, which seems less fruity than in wines that stem from slated soils, but are very complex and stimulating as a result. Riesling is ever so multi-facetted, whether as dry wine, late vintage or ice wine: The acidity is stimulating, the play of aromas complex (notes of citrus fruit, apple, apricot, quince, exotic fruit), plus an elegant minerality and spicy overtones. Riesling wines particularly reflect the terroir from which they stem.

Pinot gris

Pinot gris is a very popular cultivar in Luxembourg, the cultivated acreage for which has doubled in the last 20 years. Because of their specific aromas, these wines are considered an ideal accompaniment for high-end gastronomy as well as hearty, traditional fair. They stand out for their fresh, pleasant acidity and nice minerality. Connoisseurs will discover notes of yellow flowers or pears, but also dried fruit as well as nutty, roasted aromas.

Gewürztraminer

Gewürztraminer presents a multitude of aromas. Whether as a stimulating aperitif or exquisite accompaniment for a cheese platter: the intensive aromas of rose, lychee, peach, apricot, orange, grapefruit and honey, together with perfect harmony of sweetness and acidity, make for singularly delightful wines.

Pinot blanc

Pinot blanc is an important basic wine for Crémant, but also a racy, fruity still wine with a lively and playful acidity and fine minerality. It excels through fresh citrus aromas, white blossoms, notes of pineapple, pear and apple as well as a hint of almonds. If Pinot blanc is matured in oak barrels, the fruity notes shift to buttery, melting overtones.

Chardonnay

Very sensitive to the qualities of its terroir, this wine presents a pleasant fruitiness. This rather sturdy Burgundian variety has only been introduced recently. Its medium-sized orbicular and jagged leaf is thick and slightly lobed. Its small sized cylindrical bunch is very compact and its grapes are small and spherical.

Auxerrois

Auxerrois is a rather rare cultivar, used to produce highly diverse, particularly gastronomic wines. Their style is rather mellow, the taste profile both fresh and fruity but also complex. The aromatic pallet ranges from melon, mirabelle, citrus fruit and floral notes, to exotic fruit, quince and notes of melting honey (particularly in top-level wines which are matured in oak barrels). They can evolve into long-keeping wine, reminiscent of a white Burgundy.

Pinot noir

Pinot noir plays an important role as the basic wine for Crémant, rosé or pressed as a white wine for the summer, as well as a complex red wine from an oak barrel. A ripe Pinot noir has aromas of black cherries, blackberries and plums, as well as a hint of vanilla and roast aromas, if matured in oak barrels.

Rivaner

Rivaner is used to produce popular consumer wines with a pleasant acid structure, which after maturation brings out fruit notes of apple, mirabelle plum, apricot, and peach as well as spicy overtones in the direction of nutmeg. These are wines for uncomplicated, day-to-day enjoyment, that are “simply good.”

Elbling

Elbling is unjustly - although historically founded – considered as a basis for sparkling wine. Nowadays, however, there are excellent wines which are considered to be very much in keeping with the times because of their low alcohol content. A modern Elbling from Luxembourg is a lively, crispy wine with aromas of citrus fruit, gooseberry, green apple and pomegranate.

Crémant

Crémant de Luxembourg: This is quality sparkling wine of the highest calibre. The name “Crémant” has been used for sparkling wine from Luxembourg since 1991, provided the legal requirements are met. An innovative spirit, awareness of tradition and creativity have been combined to create, in just two decades, a product that enchants even the most discriminating connoisseurs. The Crémant is based on healthy, aromatic grapes with a refreshing acidity, favoured by the geographic location of Luxembourg’s wine-making region. The combination of selected cultivars, composition of the vintage and the maturity period makes unparalleled products, turning Crémant de Luxembourg into a very special experience for the palate.

Die wichtigsten Traubensorten

Riesling

Riesling ist die wohl bekannteste Weißwein-Rebsorte. Der Luxemburger Riesling « atmet » die Muschelkalkböden, auf denen die Reben wachsen. Sie verleihen ihm eine intensive Mineralität, die weniger fruchtig anmutet als bei Weinen, die von Schieferböden stammen, dafür aber sehr komplex und animierend. Sowohl als trockener Wein als auch als Spätlese oder Eiswein wirkt Riesling höchst facettenreich: Die Säure ist animierend, das Aromenspiel komplex ( Zitrusnoten, Apfel, Aprikose, Quitte, exotische Früchte ), gepaart mit eleganter Mineralität und würzigen Komponenten. Riesling-Weine spiegeln in besonderer Weise das Terroir wider, von dem sie stammen.

Pinot gris

Pinot gris ( Grauburgunder ) ist eine sehr beliebte Rebsorte in Luxemburg, deren Rebfläche sich innerhalb der letzten 20 Jahre verdoppelt hat. Aufgrund ihrer spezifischen Aromatik gelten diese Weine als ideale Essensbegleiter sowohl in der gehobenen Gastronomie als auch zu deftigen, traditionellen Gerichten. Sie zeichnen sich aus durch ihre frische, angenehme Säure und eine schöne Mineralität. Der Genießer entdeckt Noten von gelben Früchten oder Birne, aber auch Trockenfrüchten sowie nussige, geröstete Aromen.

Gewürztraminer

Gewürztraminer ist ein Füllhorn von Aromen. Sei es als animierender Aperitif oder als köstliche Begleitung zum Käseplateau: die intensiven Aromen von Rose, Litschi, Pfirsich, Aprikose, Orange, Pampelmuse und Honig, gepaart mit der perfekten Harmonie von Süße und Säure, erheben ihn zu einem ganz besonderen Genuss.

Pinot blanc

Pinot blanc ( Weißburgunder ) ist einerseits ein wichtiger Grundwein für Crémant, andererseits ein rassiger, fruchtiger Stillwein mit spritzigverspielter Säure und feiner Mineralität. Er besticht durch frische Zitrusaromen, weiße Blüten, Ananas-, Birnen- und Apfelnoten sowie einen Hauch von Mandeln. Wird Pinot blanc im Barrique ausgebaut, verlagern sich die fruchtigen Noten in Richtung der buttrigen, schmelzigen Komponenten.

Chardonnay

Reagiert sehr sensibel auf die Terroir- und Bodenverhältnisse und ist leichtfüßig, fruchtig und angenehm. Die Rebsorte aus Burgund ist recht robust und wurde vor nicht langer Zeit eingeführt. Sein mittelgroßes, unregelmäßig rundes, leicht gelapptes Blatt wächst dicht. Seine Trauben sind klein, zylinderförmig und kompakt, die Beeren sind klein und kugelförmig.

Auxerrois

Auxerrois ist eine eher seltene Rebsorte, aus der äußerst gastronomische Weine von großer Vielfalt entstehen. Ihre Stilistik ist eher säuremild, das Geschmacksbild sowohl frisch und fruchtig als auch komplex. Die Aromenpalette reicht von Melone, Mirabelle, Zitrusfrüchten und blumigen Noten bis hin zu exotischen Früchten, Quitte und schmelzigen Honignoten ( vor allem bei hochkarätigen Weinen, die im Barrique ausgebaut wurden ). Es können höchst lagerfähige Weine entstehen, die an weiße Burgunderweine erinnern.

Pinot noir

Pinot noir spielt eine wichtige Rolle als Grundwein für Crémant, als Rosé oder weiß gekelterter Wein für den Sommer sowie als komplexer Rotwein aus dem Barrique. Ein reifer Pinot noir hat Aromen von Schwarzkirschen, Brombeeren und Pflaumen sowie einen Hauch von Vanille und Röstaromen, wenn er im Barrique ausgebaut wurde.

Rivaner

Rivaner sind beliebte Verbrauchsweine mit einer angenehmen Säurestruktur, die je nach Ausbau saftige Fruchtnoten von Apfel, Mirabelle, Aprikose und Pfirsich sowie würzige Komponenten in Richtung Muskat hervorbringen. Es sind Weine für den unkomplizierten, alltäglichen Genuss, die « einfach gut » sind.

Elbling

ELBLING wird zu Unrecht, wenn auch historisch begründet, als Grundwein für Sekt betrachtet. Heute jedoch gibt es ansprechende Stillweine, die aufgrund ihres niedrigen Alkoholgehalts als sehr zeitgemäß gelten. Ein moderner Luxemburger Elbling ist ein lebendiger, spritziger Wein mit Aromen von Zitrus, Stachelbeere, grünem Apfel und Granatapfel.

Crémant

Crémant de Luxembourg ist Qualitätsschaumwein auf höchstem Niveau. Seit 1991 darf der Name « Crémant » für luxemburgische Qualitätsschaumweine verwendet werden, sofern die gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Bedingungen erfüllt sind. Dank Innovationsgeist, Traditionsbewusstsein und Kreativität entstand binnen zwei Jahrzehnten ein Produkt, das selbst anspruchsvollste Connaisseurs begeistert. Grundlage des Crémant sind gesunde, aromatische Trauben mit einer erfrischenden Säure, begünstigt durch die geografische Lage des Luxemburger Weinbaugebiets. Durch die Wahl der Rebsorte, die Zusammensetzung der Cuvée und die Zeit des Hefelagers entstehen einzigartige Produkte, die Crémant de Luxembourg zu einem besonderen Geschmackserlebnis machen.