The 225 million year old Moselle valley has always had a winegrowing tradition. The Celts, the Gauls and later on the Romans have all cultivated the vine in this region before the monasteries took over in the Middle Ages and extended the vineyards to a large part of the country. However, the hardships of the winter of 1709 gave back to the Moselle its winegrowing exclusivity. At the end of the 19 th century, 90 % of the vineyards were dedicated to Elbling, which was exported towards Germany to be blended with local wines.

Only after the customs union agreement with Belgium (1922), the founding of the "Institut viti-vinicole" in Remich (1925) and the creation of the "Marque Nationale" (1935) were the vineyards developed and diversified. Since the 1980's, the introduction of the distinction "Moselle Luxembourgeoise - Appellation contrôlée", the creation of the label "Crémant de Luxembourg" and the descriptions "Vendanges Tardives", "Vin de Glace", "Vin de Paille" and "Vins barrique" bestow upon the vineyards their present reputation, which is henceforth sustained by the "Commission de Promotion des Vins et Crémants de Luxembourg".


Over the 42 km, that the Moselle travels from Schengen to Wasserbillig, it has sculpted a hilly landscape, cut out of limestone, representing an ideal birthplace for viticulture.

Situated on the north slope of the river, the vineyards are for the most part between 300 and 400 metres wide, of which more than half (especially in the canton of Remich) consists of deep soils, mixing gypsum and marl for a full-bodied and smooth wine.

In the canton of Grevenmacher, the spoil earth erosion soil, crossed with impervious layers, consists of conchylaceous limestone, favouring elegant character wines.

Ideally oriented towards south-east to south-west, the best places are situated at an altitude of 150 to 200 metres and benefit from temperate climatic conditions, being under both maritime and continental influences.

Geschichte

Seit Menschengedenken wird im Moseltal, das sich vor 225 Millionen Jahren gebildet hat, Weinbau betrieben. Die Kelten, die Gallier und die Römer bauten hier schon Reben an, bevor die Klöster im Mittelalter den Weinbau übernahmen und auf weite Landesteile ausdehnten. Der strenge Winter 1709 gab der Mosel allerdings ihre Exklusivität als Weinbaugebiet zurück; im Flusstal überlebten die Rebstöcke. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts waren 90 Prozent der Weinberge mit Elbling bestockt, der nach Deutschland exportiert und dort mit den heimischen Weinen verschnitten wurde.

Erst nach der Zollunion mit Belgien (1922), mit der Gründung des Weinbauinstituts in Remich (1925) und der Schöpfung der Marque Nationale (1935) setzten die Diversifizierung und die Entwicklung des luxemburgischen Weinbaus ein. Seit den achtziger Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts trugen die Einführung der kontrollierten Herkunftsbezeichnung "Moselle Luxembourgeoise - Appellation contrôlée" sowie der Prädikate "Vendanges Tardives" (Spätlese), "Vin de Glace" (Eiswein), "Vin de Paille" (Strohwein), "Vins barrique" (im Barrique gelagert) zum ausgezeichneten Ruf der Luxemburger Weine bei. Die "Commission de Promotion des Vins et Crémants de Luxembourg" arbeitet weiter daran.

Terroir

Auf der 42 Kilometer langen Strecke von Schengen nach Wasserbillig hat die Mosel eine Landschaft geschaffen, die mit ihren Taleinschnitten und Kalkfelsen eine ideale Heimat für den Weinbau bietet.

Das Weinanbaugebiet liegt am Nordufer des Flusses und erstreckt sich 300 bis 400 Meter ins Land hinein. Über die Hälfte des Gebietes (besonders im Kanton Remich) ist von tiefgründigen Böden geprägt, von gips- und mergelhaltigen Keuperböden, die ausgewogene und gehaltvolle Weine hervorbringen.

Im Kanton Grevenmacher herrschen Erosionsgesteine vor, die mit wasserundurchlässigen Schichten durchzogen sind und aus Muschelkalk bestehen. Sie sorgen für charaktervolle, rassige Weine.

Die Weinberge sind nach Südwesten bis Südosten ausgerichtet. Die besten unter ihnen liegen auf einer Höhe von 150 bis 200 Metern und profitieren von ausgeglichenen klimatischen Bedingungen, die sowohl von maritimen als auch kontinentalen Einflüssen geprägt sind.