The main grape varieties

Riesling

Riesling is probably the best known white wine cultivar. The Riesling from Luxembourg “breathes” the shell limestone soil on which the vines grow. They confer intense minerality, which seems less fruity than in wines that stem from slated soils, but are very complex and stimulating as a result. Riesling is ever so multi-facetted, whether as dry wine, late vintage or ice wine: The acidity is stimulating, the play of aromas complex (notes of citrus fruit, apple, apricot, quince, exotic fruit), plus an elegant minerality and spicy overtones. Riesling wines particularly reflect the terroir from which they stem.

Pinot gris

Pinot gris is a very popular cultivar in Luxembourg, the cultivated acreage for which has doubled in the last 20 years. Because of their specific aromas, these wines are considered an ideal accompaniment for high-end gastronomy as well as hearty, traditional fair. They stand out for their fresh, pleasant acidity and nice minerality. Connoisseurs will discover notes of yellow flowers or pears, but also dried fruit as well as nutty, roasted aromas.

Gewürztraminer

Gewürztraminer presents a multitude of aromas. Whether as a stimulating aperitif or exquisite accompaniment for a cheese platter: the intensive aromas of rose, lychee, peach, apricot, orange, grapefruit and honey, together with perfect harmony of sweetness and acidity, make for singularly delightful wines.

Pinot blanc

Pinot blanc is an important basic wine for Crémant, but also a racy, fruity still wine with a lively and playful acidity and fine minerality. It excels through fresh citrus aromas, white blossoms, notes of pineapple, pear and apple as well as a hint of almonds. If Pinot blanc is matured in oak barrels, the fruity notes shift to buttery, melting overtones.

Chardonnay

Very sensitive to the qualities of its terroir, this wine presents a pleasant fruitiness. This rather sturdy Burgundian variety has only been introduced recently. Its medium-sized orbicular and jagged leaf is thick and slightly lobed. Its small sized cylindrical bunch is very compact and its grapes are small and spherical.

Auxerrois

Auxerrois is a rather rare cultivar, used to produce highly diverse, particularly gastronomic wines. Their style is rather mellow, the taste profile both fresh and fruity but also complex. The aromatic pallet ranges from melon, mirabelle, citrus fruit and floral notes, to exotic fruit, quince and notes of melting honey (particularly in top-level wines which are matured in oak barrels). They can evolve into long-keeping wine, reminiscent of a white Burgundy.

Pinot noir

Pinot noir plays an important role as the basic wine for Crémant, rosé or pressed as a white wine for the summer, as well as a complex red wine from an oak barrel. A ripe Pinot noir has aromas of black cherries, blackberries and plums, as well as a hint of vanilla and roast aromas, if matured in oak barrels.

Rivaner

Rivaner is used to produce popular consumer wines with a pleasant acid structure, which after maturation brings out fruit notes of apple, mirabelle plum, apricot, and peach as well as spicy overtones in the direction of nutmeg. These are wines for uncomplicated, day-to-day enjoyment, that are “simply good.”

Elbling

Elbling is unjustly - although historically founded – considered as a basis for sparkling wine. Nowadays, however, there are excellent wines which are considered to be very much in keeping with the times because of their low alcohol content. A modern Elbling from Luxembourg is a lively, crispy wine with aromas of citrus fruit, gooseberry, green apple and pomegranate.

Crémant

Crémant de Luxembourg: This is quality sparkling wine of the highest calibre. The name “Crémant” has been used for sparkling wine from Luxembourg since 1991, provided the legal requirements are met. An innovative spirit, awareness of tradition and creativity have been combined to create, in just two decades, a product that enchants even the most discriminating connoisseurs. The Crémant is based on healthy, aromatic grapes with a refreshing acidity, favoured by the geographic location of Luxembourg’s wine-making region. The combination of selected cultivars, composition of the vintage and the maturity period makes unparalleled products, turning Crémant de Luxembourg into a very special experience for the palate.

Les principaux cépages

Riesling

Riesling est sans doute le cépage de vin blanc le plus connu. Le Riesling luxembourgeois « respire » le sol calcaire coquillier sur lequel poussent les vignes. Ce sol lui donne une minéralité intense, avec un arôme fruité moins ostentatoire que dans le cas de vins issus de sol schisteux, mais néanmoins très complexe et expressif. Le Riesling présente de nombreuses facettes, que ce soit comme vin sec, vendange tardive ou vin de glace : l’acidité est vivifiante, le jeu des arômes complexe ( notes d’agrume, de pomme, d’abricot, de coing, de fruits exotiques ), le tout avec une minéralité élégante et des arômes épicés. Les Riesling reflètent intensément le terroir dont ils sont issus.

Pinot gris

Pinot gris est un cépage très apprécié au Luxembourg. La superficie des vignes plantées avec ce cépage a doublé ces 20 dernières années. En raison de leurs arômes spécifiques, ces vins sont considérés comme une solution idéale pour accompagner un repas, que ce soit avec des mets fins ou des plats robustes traditionnels. Ils sont caractérisés par une acidité agréable, toute en fraîcheur, et une belle note de minéralité. L’ amateur y découvrira des notes d’agrumes ou de poire, mais aussi de fruits secs, de même que des arômes de noix et de toast.

Gewürztraminer

Gewürztraminer est un véritable concentré d’arômes. Que ce soit comme apéritif stimulant ou pour accompagner de manière raffinée un plateau de fromages : les arômes intenses de rose, de litchi, de pêche, d’abricot, d’orange, de pamplemousse et de miel, alliés à un équilibre parfait entre le sucré et le salé, procurent un plaisir gustatif hors du commun.

Pinot blanc

Pinot blanc est d’une part un vin de base important pour le Crémant, et d’autre part un vin tranquille racé et fruité, avec une acidité toute en fraîcheur et une minéralité délicate. Il séduit avec ses arômes d’agrumes frais, de fleurs blanches, ainsi que des notes d’ananas, de poire et de pomme, sans oublier un zeste d’amande. Quant le Pinot blanc est élevé en barrique, les notes fruitées laissent la place à des arômes beurrés et moelleux.

Chardonnay

Très sensible aux qualités du terroir qui le porte, il présente un fruité léger très agréable. Cépage bourguignon assez vigoureux, introduit récemment. De taille moyenne, orbiculaire et tourmentée, sa feuille est épaisse et légèrement lobée. Petite et cylindrique, sa grappe est compacte, avec de petits grains sphériques.

Auxerrois

Auxerrois est un cépage plutôt rare, qui donne des vins particulièrement gastronomiques et d’une grande diversité. Il présente une acidité contenue avec un goût frais, fruité et complexe, accompagné d’arômes allant du melon ou de la mirabelle jusqu’aux notes florales, d’agrumes ou de fruits exotiques, de coing ou de miel ( surtout pour les vins haut de gamme, élevés en barrique ). Le cépage peut donner des vins de garde qui rappellent les vins blancs de Bourgogne.

Pinot noir

Le Pinot noir joue un rôle important, que ce soit comme vin de base pour le Crémant, comme cuvée vinifiée en rosé ou en blanc pour l’été, ou bien comme vin rouge complexe, élevé en barrique. Un Pinot noir mûr a des arômes de cerise noire, de mûre, de prune, avec un zeste de vanille et de toast, lorsqu’ il a été élevé en barrique.

Rivaner

Rivaner est un vin de consommation courante apprécié, avec une acidité agréable, qui, en fonction de l’élevage, présente des notes fruitées savoureuses de pomme, d’abricot et de pêche, ainsi que des arômes épicés allant vers le muscat. Il s’agit de vins simples et bons, destinés à une consommation quotidienne décontractée.

Elbling

ELBLING est injustement considéré comme vin de base pour le mousseux, même si cette méprise est historiquement fondée. En fait, il fait désormais partie de ces vins tranquilles attrayants qui, en raison de leur faible teneur en alcool, sont très prisés par le consommateur. Un Elbling moderne est un vin vivant avec des arômes d’agrume, de groseille, de pomme verte et de grenade.

Crémant

Le Crémant de Luxembourg est un vin mousseux de très grande qualité. Depuis 1991, le nom de « Crémant » peut être utilisé pour les vins mousseux luxembourgeois de qualité, dans la mesure où ils remplissent les conditions fixées par la loi. Grâce à l’esprit d’innovation, au sens de la tradition et à la créativité, il a été possible de créer en l’espace de deux décennies un produit qui enthousiasme même les connaisseurs les plus avertis. La base du Crémant est constituée de raisins sains, aromatiques, pourvus d’une acidité vivifiante favorisée par la situation géographique de la région viticole luxembourgeoise. Grâce au choix du cépage, à l’assemblage de la cuvée et à la durée du repos sur lies, on obtient des produits uniques, qui font du Crémant du Luxembourg une expérience gustative particulière.